Jake Owen Ignites 'Loose Cannon' Era With 4 Summertime-Worthy 'Bangers'

Photo: Matt Paskert

Jake Owen set his Loose Cannon era in motion with four new tracks from his forthcoming full-length project, just in time for the holiday weekend. Owen said earlier this week that he’s “excited for you all to get some bangers for Memorial Day weekend, start cranking them on the boat.”

The country star debuted “Hot Truck Beer,” “Solo, Solo,” — one Owen’s 4-year-old daughter Paris’ favorites — “On The Boat Again” and “Nothing,” a collection of tracks that stay true to his signature style of summertime-inspired, “sunshine-soaked lyrics,” with a few nostalgic nods blended in (listeners might catch Owen’s nod to a Willie Nelson classic and the theme song of the 1960s sitcom The Andy Griffith Show). Owen’s full collection, his seventh studio album, follows Greetings From…Jake, which released just over four years ago. Loose Cannon is due out on June 23.

“I can't wait to share this new wave of music with my fans,” Owen said in a press release earlier this week. “This album is a long time coming and feels like the best version of me. Grab your buddies, put the boat in the water, pour a cold one out and we'll catch y'all out on the lake. It's the best time of year and we're ready to celebrate.”

Listen to Owen’s four new tracks here, and see the full Loose Cannon track list below.

“Hot Truck Beer”

  1. “Hot Truck Beer” (Jordan Fletcher, Jim McCormick, Austin Nivarel)
  2. “Go Getter” (Brent Cobb, Jake Mitchell, Aaron Ratiere)
  3. “Solo Solo” (Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson, Blake Pendergrass, Hunter Phelps)
  4. “On The Boat Again” (Willie Nelson, Devin Dawson, Kyle Fishman, Rocky Block, Blake Pendergrass)
  5. “Hearts and Habits” (Thomas Archer, Jamie Moore, Jared Mullins, Ben Stennis)
  6. “When It All Shakes Out” (Jacob Davis, Jordan Dozzi, Josh Jenkins)
  7. “Hope Less” (Jared Mullins, Ben Stennis)
  8. “It Don't, He Won't and You Do” (Jordan Dozzi, Justin Ebach, Chase McGill)
  9. “Friends Don't Let Friends” (Jessie Jo Dillon, Hunter Phelps, Ben Stennis)
  10. “Boy In The Chevrolet” (Ashley Gorley, Taylor Phillips, Bobby Pinson)
  11. “Shrank” (Lalo Guzman, Walker Hayes, Hunter Phelps)
  12. “Nothing” (Dallas Davidson, Kyle Fishman, Earle Hagen, Reid Haughton, Herbert Spencer, Cole Taylor)*
  13. “Somewhere South With Rum” (Jacob Davis, Jordan Davis, Josh Jenkins, Matt Jenkins)
  14. “The Ending” (Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Chris Tompkins)
  15. “Hey Can I Buy You A Beer” (John Byron, Rocky Block, Travis Wood)
  16. “Loose Cannon” (Matt Roy)

All songs produced by Joey Moi
* co-produced by Kyle Fishman

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content